Bournemouth, Poole and Christchurch Councils to Merge.

On the 7th of November, the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government announced that he was 'minded to' implement the locally led proposal for improving local government in Dorset. 

As you may already know, the existing structure of governance in Dorset consists of two unitary councils (Bournemouth and Poole,) and the two-tier structure of Dorset County Council and the district councils of Christchurch, East Dorset, North Dorset, Purbeck, West Dorset and Weymouth & Portland.

I am delighted with the announcement that the option to merge Bournemouth, Poole and Christchurch councils into one entity is being considered. I believe that having Bournemouth, Poole and Christchurch councils as part of a single, large conurbation, will increase and develop the existing levels of coordination and cooperation across the local area. In harnessing the resources and skill sets of each council, it ensures a greater sharing of expertise and experience across the local area, which would subsequently provide maximum efficiency in administration and costs. I believe that the costs saved in unifying the different councils, combined with the single administrative body, will allow us to redistribute efforts and funds with greater haste and accuracy to areas in our community which need attention most.

However, between now and the 8th January 2018, there will be a period in which those interested may make further representations to the Secretary of State. The final decision will also be subject to Parliamentary approval. 

As ever, if you are a Bournemouth East Constituent and wish to share your views on this or any other matter, please feel free to contact me at: 

If you are unsure as to who you local MP is, you can put your postcode in at the following web address to check: